Preakness Stakes horse racing event

Preakness Stakes

The Preakness Stakes is held every year at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. It is an exciting and fast-paced American thoroughbred race.


  • 15 May 
  • Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, Maryland, USA


There is a long history of horses that run the Kentucky Derby going on to win the Preakness Stakes.  In recent years, there have only been two exceptions: Red Bullet (2000) and Bernardini (2006).

Fun fact:

A horse named Master Derby won the highest payout on record: $48.80 for a $2 bet after going off at 23.40-1. No horse with odds greater than 23-1 has ever won the Preakness.